Ache

Falling through space like a star

Speeding with terminal velocity toward the end of my eternity

No lingering dance between now and next

An instant of impact

Water kissed at 9.8 meters per second squared

No preparation for the sudden stop

Breathing, at times, too painful to cry

This transient ache, cause in chief for my strained relations with heights

It comes at random

F5 intensity ripping through my every waking moment

Leaving futility and hopelessness like urban carcasses in its wake

Perhaps this is what is meant by despair

The profound way tears with no context sear my corneas on their exit

So exotic the luxury of sinking into the sensation of suicidal intent

I can contract for safety

I am quite the convincing liar
-EJoveJohnson

Leave a Reply

