Ash

Still I am hostage
Captive in a mind I do not know
Uneasy content, perhaps I am not capable of rest
Ever this solitude
The refuge of the unquiet
Seeking solace in the words of others
Another
Safety on the laurels of your lips
To be loved by another when I cannot love myself
To be beautiful in strange eyes when beauty escapes my own
I am shadow baring no reflection
Darkness where perhaps there never was a face
Shapeless consuming absence
I have saved others
Perhaps, instead of myself
Burned, if only to light their way
Peace by proxy
Immolation by fear on the approach to life
-EJoveJohnson

Leave a Reply

