Existence

Proof of life in the presence of shadow
A pain sought for its comforting
Haunted by the idea of a sun
Illuminating imperfection, weakness
A shudder from the depths of my core
Unbearable lightness and impossible weight take up residence in my limbs
Simultaneously a part of the breeze and rooted to the earth
Everywhere I am trembling
The already theoretical world outside my mind slides out of focus
I am lost
Adrift in the ever roiling sea of my own thoughts
A sinking ship with too few lifeboats
The band begins to play
My every conversation to the melodic things I left unsaid
Catastrophic accompaniment to catastrophe
Somehow, impossibly in this way I exist
A being of indeterminate authenticity
-EJoveJohnson

Leave a Reply

