Medium

I, am only paper

Intended for tracing

A translucent coalescence from somewhen far away

For a moment I was in this world unsmudged

Delicate, superficial, waiting for the initiation of hand to skin

Branding their depths on my face for all to see

Artistic exposure, the truth of human abyss

Careful hands trace shadows into life

My reality has not scarred my exterior

Cursed blessing

Marked by every fingerprint from without as within

Your lightest touch adding indelible worldliness to my no longer clean

I was handled but not kept

Changed but not saved

The images behind my eyes, too, mark me in ways profound

For now they sleep

Untold monsters of my deep lie waiting to be free
-EJoveJohnson

Leave a Reply

