Stoicism

All that lies unspoken
An endless cacophony of curiosities trapped somewhere between should have and will
How do I ask questions I cannot articulate
From where do the reserves of courage come to ask things of you I don’t perhaps deserve
Or, perhaps, I do
I open my mouth and scream loaded silence at your sleeping form
All of the questions I’ll probably never ask
They tumble fearlessly from cowardice sealed lips
How I wish I was brave
Instead though,
I slip my arm around your waist
I nestle my face in your hair
I succumb to unconscious
It’s safe there
There, I am brave
-EJoveJohnson

Leave a Reply

