Coward

An all consuming nothing
Inside me
Darkness
Velvet despair
My always companion
Drawn now too near the surface
Infecting
The almost peace of nights without meaning
My mind overflows with the dreams I am not living
Honesty comes for my indecision with a gun
The life I owe myself screaming from my depths beyond imagining
But
I am weak
Afraid
Lost in the shadow of my own cowardice
I could not conceive the gravity of the mistakes that I was making
Payment rendered in moments of life
Sapping soul from my fingertips
Traded for meager possessions
I am tired
Drained
Enticed into oblivion
There but for the grace of he goes I
-EJoveJohnson

Leave a Reply

