September

Is this farewell to words
So long my torment, my companion
Eclipsing experience with intent
Ideas before existence
Gone now with the daylight
Imperceptibly beyond my grasp
All is vacant
September dawns and I am mute
Crushed beneath the weight of burdens not my own
Verbiage sacrificed in the name of responsibility
In the mirror stands not myself
This body stranger to it’s occupant
Emptied of treasured imagination
Razed for performance
Smile barely cresting the cheek bones
Eyes, blank
The curse of looking happy in pictures
Of, pulling it together for short bursts of sociability
Lies
Told out of necessity to keep from drowning
Tethers to this reality tantamount to hell
Danger
Waiting in the fall

Leave a Reply

